Healthy eating and the value of bread

by | Mar 8, 2017 | Health, News

Gluten-free; dairy-free; meat-free – clean eating: when did a balanced diet become dirty? Mary Farmer, our nutrition expert, looks at the latest food fad.

Do all grains contain gluten? Different wheat flours have different gluten contents: the best for bread-making still comes from Canada. It is known as “durum wheat”, and has a high gluten content. Flours with less gluten are known as “soft” and are generally better used in biscuits, pastries and cakes. Wheat is not the only grain that contains gluten: the others are barley and rye. Over the last 15 – 20 years, there has been discussion and resulting confusion regarding oats and whether they contain gluten or not. It would now seem that there is agreement that they do NOT contain gluten as such (avenin is the corresponding protein). However, it is possible that there could be contamination from wheat or barley during milling. Oats which are labelled as “gluten-free” are not contaminated.

Read the full article Independent Living